top of page

CELESTIA EP out now! [and a general hiya from the studio]

So this very night I finished my latest work, the Celestia EP.

Now, I rarely speculate my own music this extensively (outside the occasional self irony) but I thought I'd give it a try (since nobody else does)

Techno is repetitive music.

Period.

At best, interesting (at least sound-wise) but repetitive nevertheless, and there's no denying that. Of course, there are other alternatives to trance-inducing music but in it's all percussive and repetitive glory it deserves it's place in the context of a modern tribal-like gathering.

Now, most electronic music producers including me are trying to achieve the status and the benefits that come along with it by having a piece of work played at such an event, but techno and it's derivative forms are also listening music.

I've been trying to defend this artistic view on styles of music that are often, by many, considered brutal and primitive (for example rock) by focusing on the more progressive and experimental aspects, and in my own works, by adding the occasional downtempo or even an ambient track in some of my EPs and albums.

The last two EPs have been pretty straightforward and that could be a step in the right direction if I ever want to make it out of the artistic mindset (note : I've been obsessed with Pink Floyd's DSOTM ever since I heard it the first time which was roughly around 2008 when I started producing seriously)

Although, I highly doubt that techno, or broadly speaking, the current electronic dance music scene in general will spawn an album that will in the future be seen as defining a whole generation (ours that is), but it's certainly not a bad goal to work towards.

I could keep going on forever on the antics and furthermore, go-in depth on the production methods but technically speaking it's nothing fancy. To scrape the surface on the subject, there's a kick sampled from the Roland JX-8P, a Melbourne bounce-style snare pattern (which is rarely found in techno music and I have to take credit for that) utilizing a sauna snare which I recorded a while ago, and of course an emulated 303 thrown into a sequencer, shaken (not stirred) and baked at about 126bpm for approximately 5 minutes. Maybe I should write an EDM cookbook?

In the end, I'd say a certain kind of awareness (but also the fact that in some circles techno is regarded as avant-garde music and a serious art form) kept the overall soundscape and the cover art a bit more restrained than usually.

I'd give it 3 1/2 Marbles out of 5.

Here's a Dropbox D/L link

PLUR <303 and stay safe (although it's not in my power),

-ef

EDIT : I'll make this edit here for future editing since I forget things easily.

EDIT 2 : Added the EDM cookbook link.

EDIT 3 : Fixed the embed code.

EDIT 4 : Forgot the first edit.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page