top of page

Thoughts on physical stuff [and some trivia,too]

As some of you may know, I recently released my latest work, the Celestia EP as a 12" vinyl record :

With a total number of 5 copies, sporting a minimalistic (some would say "old school") white label design (it's cheaper to make whitelabels, as a downside the text has to be written by hand) it's something I can be proud of when I'm older I guess.. I do own a pair of turntables but they're in their road cases for now (I'm still struggling with my live setup)

As always with physical releases, making these (and CDs too) is an adventure of it's own (not to mention there's a risk that something goes wrong, plus it's ridiculously expensive), but I do have to thank the guy(s?) at Analog Cut Mastering for making an excellent job at cutting the records and getting the parcel here in one piece.

The distribution was easy.. one for my parents, one to an EDM blog and one for a guy whom I promised a copy (we met at a bar).. one I autographed & gave away to an old customer from my previous job who I happened to meet (he took me out for a coffee). The remaining copy was supposed to stay in my record bag but then I remembered my brother who will get it in the near future (I accidently wrote the notes on the wrong side of the sleeve..)

Now, let's assume that one day I get really famous.. wonder how much these copies (especially the autographed one) will be worth then?

Not that it's my concern..

Anyway, that's the magic of making a physical release.

Hope you're enjoying the autumn!

-ef

P.S : Some would argue that the money spent on physical releases could be put to better use, considering it's a somewhat dying industry. Anyway, I'd imagine that the key people (most of them in their 40-50's) working in music full-time appreciate these kinds of things. Go figure..

P.P.S : I forgot to write down the correct playback speed which if I remember correctly was 33 1/3rpm..

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page