top of page

A great start to the icefishing season [includes another recipe]

I just started the icefishing season as of yesterday.. I bought a new setup (which included a rod, 3 tips and 2 lures) in case I need to switch another lure quickly and I needed a small to medium sized rod for common, smaller catch such as small perch (perca fluviatilis) and roach (rutilus rutilus).


I also started a small label (more of that later) for my music and a webshop.


While setting up the rod (the weather has been bad, about -25..-30C celsius outside) and waiting for the weather to warm up I decided to stay inside and play computer games instead.


After the weather warmed a bit near -5C I went on and bought some baits (they go bad really quickly) from the local gas station and began my first fishing trip this year. I also packed some coffee with me as it was really windy, and after a 100 meters I drilled my first hole with my freshly sharpened auger to check the ice thickness. I decided to test the new rod although I was sure there weren't any fish in that spot.. little did I know, after about 10 seconds the line started to wander in the hole and there was a fish that took the bait!



Here's the catch from the first hole yesterday, about half kilo of much sought-after perch. In the picture is also the new rod.


Anyway, on to the recipe:


Kalakukko (fish in a bread)


Dough:

2-3dl of water

1 tbsp of salt

500-700g of rye flour

100-200g of wheat flour


Filling:

500g-1000g of vendace (coregonus albula), perch or salmon

300-500g of pork rib (boneless) or bacon

Salt and pepper for seasoning


First, prepare the dough by mixing the water, salt and the flours. Flatten the dough into roughly 2cm thickness.


Remove the heads and tails (if using vendace, which is the traditional fish for this dish), from perch remove scales, heads, tails and the spiky dorsal fin (edit: skin if you're using large perch). If using salmon remove the skin and bones.


Lay strips of sliced pork onto the dough, then your fish of preference, then pork etc. Season each layer with salt and pepper.


Fold the dough onto the fish&pork so that a loaf is formed and moisten the dough with a small amount of water, then seal the package tightly.


Heat the oven to 150C, bake for 1 hour in 150C and lower the temperature to 125C (at this point you can moisten the dough more with melted butter). Bake for another 3-4 hours.


Remember to leave some leftover dough in case the bread "leaks".


This is what the end product should look like.


Anyway, happy New Year and tight lines. Don't forget to check out the webshop!


-ef

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page