top of page

Back in the business (a semi-rant but some winning too)

After a car breakdown, and both my desktop and my trusty old Macbook Pro breaking down I decided to unwind for a while (I did this music thing for nearly 15 years). I kind of saw that coming but before that I got a 8-track multitrack recorded, a Tascam DP-03SD which I used for dawless techno (it's the new black isn't it?) and other stuff.


At a webstore I found a used HP Elitebook 840 G4 for cheap so I bit the bullet and got it, now I'm typing on this thing (I'm also doing music with it). Installing all the software was a hassle, unfortunately all the music I used for DJing is still in the HD of the Macbook Pro but I managed to salvage some of them on CD using safe boot for DJing purposes. Also all the project data on the desktop was lost (I was thinking of salvaging the hard drive for future use)


Due to unfortunate circumstances I also lost my home studio which was, to quote a Craigslist thinking chair seller, "home to some very great and banal thoughts" for almost 10 years. In total I recorded 4 albums and about 10 EPs there, plus some single songs.


Here's a pic of my current DAW production setup, I've yet to add a MIDI keyboard.

So, I moved back to my parents' house where I've been living for 4 years now, I've been helping them with groceries and trash and whatnot, and all in all I'm sort of content with my life (at least I don't have to bear being alone all the time)


Meanwhile I've been working on DIY DJ mixers (as a hobby) like in my previous posts.. so far I have 3 prototypes none of which are functional but I'm hopeful to find a working solution one of these days.


I did manage to scrape together a spin-off from my first album using nothing but hardware called Arcade Reloaded.


It turned out quite ok.. using nothing but hardware.


Until next time, I'll catch you on the flipside!


Yours,


-ef

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page